Baking A Whole Fish

Found out I was going to be cooking dinner for may family and in-laws
for my birthday meal in Galveston. (Leave it to me to volunteer to
cook on my birthday) So, lately I have been obsessed with cooking
super fresh foods and figured I should try to cook fish since I was at
the beach. And just to be fancy, I wanted to cook whole fish instead
of just regular fish fillets. Turns out cooking whole fish is pretty
easy! Here’s how you do it:

Ingredients:
2 lemons thinly sliced
Fennel stalks from 1 fennel bulb
2 garlic cloves pressed
Olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste
1 whole fish (pending on the size this can feed 2-3 people)
-When you are buying your fish make sure to have it cleaned, descaled
and gills removed.

Rinse the fish inside and out then oil the skin and sprinkle with salt and pepper.


Stuff it with the garlic, lemon, and fennel stalks.

Optional: If you feel like the stuffing is going to fall out, then skewer the edges with bamboo skewers and cut the ends to shorten. I did this the first time I baked the whole fish then the next time I forgot the skewers and skipped this step… it didn’t really make a difference.

Place lemon slices in the bottom of your pan and the fish on top.

Bake at 375 degrees for about 20-30 minutes or until fish is flaky. Remove and let rest for 5 minutes.
You can choose to throw the fish on a platter and let your guests figure out how to eat it themselves. Or you can remove the skin. Start to pull at the “crispy” edge then pull it back. This should come off easily but you can use a knife to gently nudge it along.

After the skin is removed you can easily lift the bone out of the fish and serve the bottom fillet as well.

I served this with rice and salad and it was delicious. This was my trial run at home. I did this again in Galveston. I went to the local fish market!

I bought these beautiful red snapper. But totally misjudged the amount of people they would serve.


Turns out that 2 red snapper serve 6 people…. I had to send the folks home with the other 2.


Still had a lot of fun cooking them and it was REALLY low key cooking that turned out looking great!

Even Guess liked it…. Well he wanted to try it….. Hence the strategic placement 🙂

Leave a Reply

