Oh… Mint Ice Cream

Ok so I LOVE ice cream. But, I am moving to a country with intermittent power outages and non- refrigerated shipping trucks. So most of the ice cream I will be able to buy will have been frozen, unfrozen, refrozen, ect. And we all know the consistency of that ice-cream will not make me feel happy or comforted. Hence, my new obsession with making my own ice cream…… Well that, plus finally reading the freaky ingredients list on the back of every ice cream carton in the HEB.


What the crap is “guar gum”?!?! I don’t think so schmancy ice cream makers! You’re not slipping that stuff past me anymore!

So… On this little ice-cream journey I’ve realized the consistency of your ice cream is not so creamy unless you add a TON of fat. Which, as a health nut, I simply can’t put heavy whipping cream, half&half and sugar in the same bowl and eat it without going down a shame spiral.

Then I discovered Custard! I always thought it was the fattier version of ice cream, but if you are making it yourself, you can lighten up on the fat and put in eggs instead. You get all the creaminess of ice-cream but none of the guilt! It’s a bit weird cause you have to cook your ingredients on the stove, but it is soooo yummy.

So, below is my successful version of mint chocolate cookie ice cream. The first time I made it it said “for a more intense mint flavor, blend the mint and the milk mixture together and let sit overnight”.

My response, “I love mint ice cream. I don’t want this to not really taste like mint….. “
So I went for the more intense mint version. The resulting flavor profile:


Yea… Don’t go for the “intense mint” version…..

Enjoy!

Mint Chocolate Cookie Ice Cream

2 cups 2%milk
2 cups half & half
1tsp vanilla
Pinch of salt
1 packed cup mint leaves
1 cup sugar- divided
5 egg yolks
8 crunchy chocolate cookies


In a saucepan over medium-low heat, combine milk, half&half, salt, vanilla, 1/2 cup sugar and whisk slowly (I was a brisk whisker the first time around and was fighting froth the rest of the time!). Bring it just to a boil.


Remove from heat and add the mint leaves and steep 30 minutes.


While you are letting the leaves steep. Crack and separate the eggs. (Note my ridiculously handy egg yolk separator I got from Sur la Table)


Whisk 1/2 cup of sugar with the egg yolks till it lightens.


Remove the mint leaves from the milk mixture and return to just to a boil with heat on medium-low.


Once it is at a slight boil, whisk in 1/3 of milk to the egg mixture till combined. Then whisk in another 1/3 of milk mixture. Once all combined add back to the saucepan and heat on low. DO NOT bring it to a boil or you will have egg flavored Ice cream!

When the mixture is thicker remove from heat. Thicker: It’s supposed to coat the back of your spoon…. But it doesn’t really.

Let the mixture come to room temperature and refrigerate 2-4 hours or overnight.

Then pour it into your ice cream maker!


Once it starts to look like ice cream. Like this:


Pour in the crushed cookies and let mix for about 2-5 minutes.


I liked these cookies the best they had bonus chocolate chips and were made with rosemary extract for an herbal explosion (the yummy kind).


Remove once the cookies are well combined and put in a 1-2 qt container and store in the freezer.


If you eat it immediately it’s a little soupy but still AMAZING!


Bon appetite! Next up…. Coffee Ice Cream for my coffee obsessed husband. 🙂

One thought on “Oh… Mint Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

