Ditching the Shampoo

Ok….so I know I’ve lived in Austin for 3 years and yes, some “Austin” things have rubbed off on me, like my eating habits and my affinity for scarves. However, going without shampoo is NOT encouraged by most of my Austin friends who happen to have amazing hair and “casual” tousled up dos that would take me 3 hours to replicate. If you don’t believe me check out my friend Jamie’s hair …..
It’s awesome… I know.

So… No, I am not going without shampoo to save the planet. In Uganda, a landlocked country, the import taxes make EVERYTHING expensive. Our cheap $6 bottle of shampoo here is about $30 dollars in Uganda. So, slowly but surely I have been trying to shift my life off of buying packaged products. The food stuff is easy, but bath products……

I can safely say I am more excited to learn how to make my own pasta than to make my own shampoo. But, I’m saving us money if I can make it work, so here it goes.

Day 1: washing my hair with a baking soda and water mixture… It feels like i am just pouring water over my head. Supposedly no conditioner is required. That is, until I try to run my fingers though my wet hair and rip out half of my head.

Day 2: I use more of the baking soda mixture till I really feel like something is in my hair before I rinse it out. Used a comb to get it though the ends… The comb frizzed out my curls. (I usually never brush or comb my hair, I just run my fingers through it to keep the curls in tact.)

Day 5: my hair smells like nothing, feels weird but not dirty, I have no idea how to apply hair products to make my hair look normal….. I miss my shampoo and conditioner.

Day 7: “Accidentally” forget my baking soda mixture and have to use the gym’s shampoo and conditioner……It was amazing.

Day 8: changed my baking soda mixture to a herbal tea and baking soda shampoo followed by a apple cider vinegar/water rinse…. Ahhhhh it’s starting to get it’s bounce back

Day 10: my hair feels way more normal with the tea/baking soda and vinegar rinse. But, it’s reacting differently to my hairspray so am trying to lighten up on my hairspray application.

So I think this is going to work. My hair looks normal again, and I’m getting used to the lack of lather. I still like regular shampoo, but this seems to be a pretty good alternative. And my hair stylist approved …. So that’s a big plus for me!
Instructions to go “poo-free

Shampoo

  • 2 tablespoons baking soda
  • 1 cup strongly brewed tea of any kind

Combine baking soda and tea in a squirt bottle. I suggest running the bottle under your hot shower water to warm it up before you use it. Apply to crown and scrub scalp. Let sit for a minute and rinse.

Conditioner

  • 1 tablespoon of vinegar
  • 1 cup water
  • 1-2 drop of essential oil (whatever smell you like)

Combine ingredients in an 8oz spay bottle. Spray on the ends of your hair to condition like you normally would. Enjoy your new beauty routine!

Leave a Reply

