My biggest fear is about…. Ya know…. A Ladies only post

Ok gentlemen, this is a ladies only post. You have officially been warned so if you continue reading because you are insanely curious then don’t blame me about TMI later. That’s you’re own problem.
__________________________________________________
I have wanted to move overseas since I was 16. So knowing that, people have had lots of questions for me the 2 biggest being:
1. “What about babies?” Which I have answered here.
2. “What is your biggest fear?”
My biggest fear…. every time I get this question I realize that something must be wrong with me. Instead of fearing for my safety, my health, not connecting with the people or any of the other very logical things I can be fearful of…….. I’m afraid of not finding tampons.
That’s right.
I said it.
Tampons.
That was my biggest fear. I had no clue how to deal with being a girl in the middle of nowhere. I heard stories of others in the peace core or even friends of mine having care packages or envelopes stuffed with their brand of tampons shipped to them regularly by their moms.
What?!?!
THAT is NOT a care package. That is a necessity package. Having the appropriate amount of tampons is not something that I want to entrust to the kindness of my care package providers. What if that package is the one that gets lost in the mail? What if there’s not enough tampons? What if they send the wrong brand and I am uncomfortably dealing with it for months, because I can’t return the wrong brand to the store?
Terrified. Horrified. And too mortified to ask anyone I know that has been overseas about it.
Honestly, l’m a pretty open person about these girly things (as evident by this post which is probably making you blush). But I have too often asked questions like this to the shy girly girls who do NOT want to talk about this subject and completely embarrased myself in the process.
And then, a couple of months ago, in walks an angel. A nurse who recently returned from Uganda.
I love nurses. Most of them will talk about anything. If you ask them in a purely professional curiosity way then they will really give you answers to the gory detailed questions that you have been dying to ask.
So I have now been introduced to the MoonCup

Hallelujah! This thing was invented for women who need to rough it in a foreign nation.
Mooncup, MCUK, is a reusable silicone cup that you insert like a tampon. No throwing away, no wondering if you will have enough next time, completely safe and the answer to my prayers.
Yes… it’s weird. I know it’s weird that instead of using tampons I now have a cup that I have to dump out and reuse. But it’s actually pretty simple.
I am now going to suggest that you consider getting one…. but I don’t think I could do this to your face, so I will suggest it here.
Why Should You Get a MCUK?
1. Healthier- no Toxic Shock Syndrome, no messed up ph levels, no dryness, no itchies, no left behind fibers… ick.
2. Less Annoying- it holds triple the amount of …. ya know…. than tampons so I put it in and 1-2 DAYS later check on it. (I’m super light, so it may not be the same for everyone. But it does come with a handy-dandy measurer on the side of the cup so you can actually know some numbers about your…. ya know.)
3. Environmentally Friendly- MCUK’s website has lots of stats about how tampons and pads are killing the planet. This is reusable and won’t fill up landfills. Come on my granola-making, hippy sisters!
4. Cheap- $30 one time purchase and you never have to waste your money on tampons again. Think about how much you spend on those in a year…. what if you could do something else with that cash?
So I’m obviously a megafan. So now MCUK hooked me up and if you purchase one using this link then I get some cash and you get to save the planet and support the Lees!
MCUK affiliate banner Orange Flower

Now that you know I’m not shy about it, if you want to ask me questions I won’t mind. Face to face or via email 🙂
___________________________________
Do you have any planet saving awesome ideas you haven’t shared? Dish.

***UPDATE***
I’ve been getting lots of questions about details that are pretty similar, so I wanted to go ahead and address them here. Thanks!

1. Leaking- so far I had it leak once and that was because I had inserted it too high (it sits fairly low). I just pulled it out and reinserted it and the leaking was resolved.

2. Comfort- it’s about 2inches in diameter and 2 inches tall and its flexible, so I can’t feel it when I’m moving around or sitting.

3. Cleaning- So while I’m on my period I just dump it out and rinse it and reinsert. After my period I wash it with soap and water. I have also boiled it… But I’m getting too lazy to do that all the time.

4. Activity- yes, you can do all the same activities with a moon cup that you do with a tampon. I teach aerobics for a living, so I wouldn’t recommend it if including handle it. I have gone swimming, taught Zumba, ran, etc.

5. Portable- so since it’s 2×2 it takes up less space in my purse than my bottle of travel lotion. It comes with a little bag to keep it in too to keep it clean while you carry it around.

6. Mess- so there is no applicator so you do have to be ok with inserting it… The is some mess that you have to deal with on that end. Other than that, I usually fully remove it when I have access to my sink, so I will dump it out and then rinse it in the sink. MoonCup recommends carrying a bottle of water to public restrooms to be able to rinse it off. I usually forget though so I dump it out and just reinsert (which MoonCup said was ok too). So there is a little mess, but you have access to toilet paper and a sink when you’re dine anyways.

2. Comfort- it’s about 2inches in diameter and 2 inches tall and its flexible, so I can’t feel it when I’m moving around or sitting.

3. Cleaning- So while I’m on my period I just dump it out and rinse it and reinsert. After my period I wash it with soap and water. I have also boiled it… But I’m getting too lazy to do that all the time.

4. Activity- yes, you can do all the same activities with a moon cup that you do with a tampon. I teach aerobics for a living, so I wouldn’t recommend it if including handle it. I have gone swimming, taught Zumba, ran, etc.

5. Portable- so since it’s 2×2 it takes up less space in my purse than my bottle of travel lotion. It comes with a little bag to keep it in too to keep it clean while you carry it around.

6. Mess- so there is no applicator so you do have to be ok with inserting it… The is some mess that you have to deal with on that end. Other than that, I usually fully remove it when I have access to my sink, so I will dump it out and then rinse it in the sink. MoonCup recommends carrying a bottle of water to public restrooms to be able to rinse it off. I usually forget though so I dump it out and just reinsert (which MoonCup said was ok too). So there is a little mess, but you have access to toilet paper and a sink when you’re done anyways.

Leave a Reply

