Help! Too much orange!

So Roger and I created this beautiful, interactive presentation that shares all about why we’re going to Uganda. We share it with people we are asking to pray about supporting us.When we were making it I got to select all the photos and Roger did the background themes. Unfortunately, he picked orange…

Now, being an Aggie I am always a little opposed to orange. Fortunately, he didn’t pick UT orange or anything, just a bright fun orange….

…its not fun anymore.

I cannot tell you how ridiculously tired I am of that darn orange. Every time we open up the presentation my heart gives a little “here we go again” sigh.

Honestly, I don’t think it has anything to do with the actual colors of the presentation. It’s just that we’ve been walking people through it an average of three times a week for 9 months.
Let me say that again. I’ve talked through this presentation over 110 times!

I knew fundraising was going to be an endurance race… but good grief! How do people do this?!?!

I really do have a passion for bringing hope to the Acholi in Uganda and all of my heart is wrapped up into this presentation. But, I am embarrassed to admit….. Sometimes I’m on auto pilot. We’ll be going through our presentation and Roger and I know exactly what jokes we’re about to make, when we share which story, who shares what at what time, blah blah blah……same pictures….same orange.

So, how do you stay connected to a story that you retell 100 times? Is there a way to stop myself sounding like the Peanuts teacher?

I don’t know the answer to this one. My current plan is to sneakily change the colors of our presentation without telling Roger and hope he doesn’t notice.

Any suggestions for how to stay connected to a topic you repeat so often?
Teachers – I know you run into this. What’s your solution?

Leave a Reply

