I’m a Planner

Sometimes I feel the pressure to like every verse in the bible. Nobody said that I’m supposed to like them all, but somehow the rule following, religious, Colleen tells me that if I don’t like a bible verse then I must not like Jesus. So I try to like all of them…. then there’s this one:
Matthew 6:25-27 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable then they? Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?”
I’m sure that some of you read Matthew 6 and think, “Oh, how nice. Look, I can just trust God, not worry about the future and everything will work out fine. La ti da ti da.”
My interpretation, “Colleen, I know that your a very thought out person and you like to plan things and make lists… but why don’t you go ahead and stop doing that. Instead, why don’t you just never plan anything ever again and quietly hope that your life won’t fall to pieces. Sounds like fun, huh?”
Nails on a chalkboard……*shudder*
This is the point when I shove religious Colleen over and scream, “Noooooooo!” with my agonized face to the heavens.
I am a planner.
That’s right.
I said it.
A planner.
I like to plan, make lists, know the details. It’s what I do.
I’ve wrestled with Matthew 6:25 before and here’s what I’ve come out with……Telling a planner not to plan is just plain silly. It’s like telling a bird that they shouldn’t fly, but instead wait for food to walk by. Just like that bird is made to fly, I am made to plan. God created me to have this gift, so why wouldn’t I use it?
So I have been trying to plan our initial landing and budget in Uganda. I’ve talked with several people who have worked or are working in Uganda. And they have all have been enormously open in sharing their stories, budgets, experiences and advice with us as we prepare to move.
However, all of those people read Matthew 6:25 like the first interpretation. Which means, I have been tearing my hair out trying to get some real details about life in Uganda. It’s been driving me crazy…..
Just when I thought I was going to have to have my husband start checking my head for bald patches I got a breath of fresh air in an email full of lists and helpful answers. A wonderful woman living in Uganda answered my questions with amazing detail and clarity. And now I have been able to make a more realistic plan for our  initial time in Uganda.
God you have heard my prayers!
So what do I do about Matthew 6:25? I think my friend Ame has said it best, “We make our plans and then hold them loosely.”
I realize that even with this new level of detail from my friend in Uganda, I still cannot plan for everything. And maybe not all of my plans will be correct. But, I will make plans since I am beautifully designed to do so and then I will hold them loosely for God to change or edit them as He chooses. Cause let’s face it… He is a better planner than I am. And in that, I think I can be a little Matthew 6:25.
So to all you other list makers and planners out there. Plan on! Go ahead and find happiness in details. But…. try to be flexible.
_________________________________________________
I’ve heard I’m going to have to deal with this “Africa Time” thing. So, fellow list makers, any suggestions for thriving in a “slow paced” culture?

Leave a Reply

