Making my own Facewash

So after my freak out about all the chemicals going onto my skin, I started researching how I could do some natural solutions to my skin regime.

I did find out that some mascara companies are realizing that all those chemicals in mascara make your eyelashes fall out and have started using clay instead.

And mineral make up, which has been around forever, is taking a stronger hold in the make up industry. It does seem to be the best solution for my make up needs, since there’s no way I could find to DIY make up.

I did find on CrunchyBetty.com (a blogger I am falling in love with) a recipe for Facewash that looked like a simple solution.

DIY Facewash: Honey and Baking Soda
Wet your face then on a warm wet washcloth add equal parts baking soda and honey. I just sprinkle a 1/4 tsp of baking soda and then squeeze an equal amount of honey on top. Then gently scrub your face with it. It’s mildly exfoliating and smells yummy! Then I just rinse the washcloth and wipe off the facewash.

DIY Facial Toner: Cider Vinegar, Water and Lavender
(Modified version of Crunchy Betty’s ACV Toner)
After the baking soda-honey thing, I put facial toner on a cotton pad or washcloth and wipe. CrunchyBetty says this neutralizes the baking soda, I just know it removes any residual stickiness from the honey. She has a bunch of different recipes on her website but I landed on: 1/4 cup of water, 2 tablespoons of cider vinegar and 5 drops of lavender oil. I make some and store on the shelf and just use what I need.

So I have been using this for about 2 weeks now, can I just say that my skin is AMAZING! I have gone through the most stressful 2 weeks ever having changed cultures, climates and countries and I haven’t had any breakouts! That is soooo not normal. I am positive it’s from this new face wash routine because normally my face is the first thing to go when I get stressed.

So I would highly encourage you to give it a try and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

