Thanksgiving Piecaken

Apparently if you make a piecaken one time then you will be constantly asked to remake piecakens for any celebration. This is only my second piecaken, the first one being Roger’s 1,000,000,000 second Birthday in September, and I think it turned out pretty well.

Many have asked how to make a piecaken and unfortunately my directions will be about as simple as Jamie the Very Worst Missionary’s, but here you go.

So in the spirit of fall I made a pecan pie, with cinnamon cake and maple buttercream frosting. BOOYAH!

Step 1: Bake a pie. I’ve found that it doesn’t matter what type of pie as long as it can be baked in the oven, single crust, double crust, doesn’t matter. I made a pecan pie, which I used to hate cause the goo in pecan pie is gross corn syrup and gelatinous, BUT I can’t find corn syrup in Uganda anyways. So, when my lovely husband requested a pecan pie I found this recipe that uses HONEY! Hooray for natural ingredients!

20131129-122507.jpg

I don’t know if its my Ugandan oven or what but I have to bake mine usually for 1 hour and 15 minutes to get the center to set. Also, don’t worry about delicately topping it with decorative pecans….you’re about to dump it into a cake and no one will see them.

Personally I do this step the day before I want to make the cake. Just stick the cake in the fridge overnight and pull it out as you are doing step 2.

Step 2: Make your cake batter. This time we made a cinnamon cake with this recipe. The batter turned out a little thick but it still tasted good so whatever.

20131129-123415.jpg

And yes, you are making the full recipe for the 2 round pans, but you will be dumping it all into one pan. Go ahead and preheat your oven to whatever the cake recipe says to do.

Step 4: Assemble. In a greased 9 inch springform pan pour enough of the cake batter to cover the bottom. Loosen the pie crust with a knife in its pie pan and then dump it on top of the layer of batter. You will literally dump it in so that you just see the bottom of the pie. This time a part of the bottom of my pie was still stuck to the pan, but I just unstuck it from the pan and put it back in its place (NO ONE is going to see it).

Then you pour cake batter over the pie. It will slide down to fill some of the crevasses but there should still be cake batter on the top of the pie.

Step 4: Bake. Bake your piecakey thing to whatever the recipes instructions. If you are using this cake recipe then it takes way longer than the recipe… just make sure that the top is cooked through. Check the center with a toothpick, but don’t poke too far or you’ll hit the pie.

un-frosted piecaken

See the little spots where the pie crust is peeking out of the cake….. YUM!

Step 5: Frost and decorate. Once your piecaken has cooled and you have flipped it onto a plate (so much easier with a springform pan!) then frost that baby! I used maple buttercream from this recipe. It was yummy!

Piecaken frosted frosted piecaken

So, this was a Thanksgiving piecaken so we attempted to make a turkey out of our extra pecans… any resemblance to a dinosaur is completely coincidental. 

Step 6: Enjoy and Share! This thing is amazing and you will love it. However, I cannot stress how important it is to share… this bad boy has about 450 calories per 16th of a slice! Fortunately we had about 16 people at our party so we all enjoyed our 1 slice of picaken heaven.

Pecan pie, cinnamon cake piecaken

January is my Hubby’s Birthday so we’ll see what kind of piecaken combo I can come up with! If you guys have any ideas please share!

Leave a Reply

