Paleo Banana Pancakes

So, as promised, I am posting on the craziness that is trying to go Paleo while living in Uganda. I think if I only wanted to eat meat and veg I would be ok but I LOVE me some pancakes and so does my hubby, so I wanted to find a paleo recipe. Apparently there are 2 types of paleo pancakes, the ones with almond flour and the ones with a tapioca flour and coconut flour blend. So, the almond flour ones are out… I found almonds once at the capital for $15/lb, so I am not about to grind half of them into flour! I attempted to make my own coconut flour it was… Um different which I will post about later. However, I made a revolutionary discovery, tapioca flour IS cassava flour! For those of you that don’t live in Uganda this might not be earth changing. Cassava, a starchy tuber like a yam, is everywhere, one of the main staples of Ugandan diets AND they turn it into flour locally! So I had a weird moment when I realized that tapioca pudding and bubble tea are actually made with cassava but whatever.

So I played with the cassava flour/tapioca flour and finally came up with a pancake recipe that even my pancake expert husband loves.

20131226-163901.jpg

Ingredients:
1/2 cup cassava/tapioca flour
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
4 eggs
1/2 cup mashed banana

Mix all ingredients together and let sit for 3 or so minutes for the flour to set up. Then make pancakes! I usually heat my pan on medium heat and pour a tablespoon of olive oil to coat bottom of pan.

Serves: I’ve pictured my pancakes which I usually just make 2 giant pan sized pancakes so in this case it makes 2 but you can pour smaller 4 inch pancakes and I think it will make 4-6 of those.

I top mine with honey or applesauce!

Please let me know how this recipe turns out for you! Enjoy!

One thought on “Paleo Banana Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Paleo Pumpkin Pancakes | PureLee

Leave a Reply

