Paleo Birthday Piecaken

I know I know, you paleo fans are probably thinking, “Paleo piecaken!?! That’s just not right!” And it probably isn’t, but I did it anyways.

Roger’s birthday (his actual one, not his half Birthday or Billionth second birthday which we also celebrated this past year) was at the beginning of January. So, realizing that if I made an regular piecaken I would destroy us both (the side effects of eating gluten and too much sugar are not fun anymore) I decided to make it paleo instead.

Apple pie, cappuccino cake & espresso buttercream Piecaken!

Lets do this….

Paleo apple pie
After searching for recipes and testing pie crusts I finally gave up and made it up myself. So here’s my Paleo apple pie recipe

For a Double Pie Crust:
1 cup cassava flour
1cup coconut flour
1 tsp Salt
2/3c + 2 tbsp of butter or palm shortening (I used butter cause that was my only option)
4-6 Tbsp of cold water or even a little more because of the absorbent coconut flour

I use a food processor but you can go either way. Combine the dry ingredients and then cut in the butter or shortening till cut into pea sized pieces. Add 4-6 tablespoons of water or until crust combines well (you have to add more water than normal due to the super absorbent coconut flour). Wrap in plastic wrap and cool in the fridge for 15 minutes. Then roll out between sheets of plastic wrap. Remove the top sheet of plastic wrap and then flip into your pie pan. I couldn’t get mine to stay together completely, so if yours cracks a bit or pieces come off just stick them back in there.

Paleo Apple Pie Filling:
3-4 green apples peeled and thinly sliced
2tsp cinnamon
pinch of salt
2 Tbs lemon juice
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 Tbsp cassava flour
4 Tbsp honey
Optional: butter to dot on the filling

Toss all the filling ingredients together in a bowl, then put into the pie crust. Dot with butter if you like. Then cover your pie with your second pie crust. Mine did have a couple of cracks in it, I just left them alone knowing that I would dump the whole thing into a cake later. 😉 Bake the pie in a preheated oven at 350 for about 30 minutes. I highly recommend covering the edge crust with foil so it doesn’t burn during the baking.

If all you wanted was an apple pie then Viola! If your up for the whole piecaken then see the rest of the recipe below.

 

So I always make my pie the day before so that the day of, I actually get to leave my kitchen at some point. So with your pie prepared… start making your cake.

Cappuccino Cake
I adapted a recipe again for size and flavor from thepaleomom.com. She was bold enough to make a fully paleo frosting as well! I just couldn’t do it this go around… maybe next time.

8 eggs at room temperature
1/3 cup melted coconut oil or ghee
1/3 cup melted unsalted butter
2/3 cup honey
1/3 cup cassava flour
1/2 cup coconut flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp instant coffee
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Either grease your 9″ springform pan for piecaken or if your just having the cake then prepare 2 8″ or 9″ cake pans. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Combine the instant coffee and vanilla extract and let it sit for a couple of minutes to dissolve. Then combine all ingredients including your coffee and vanilla mixture. Stir 3-4 minutes to combine thuroughly. For the piecaken, pour just enough of the cake batter to cover the bottom of the pan. Then dump in the pie (the pie is upside down in the cake pan now). Then pour the rest of the batter over the pie. Bake for 30 minutes or until cake is done in the center. Remember that when you test for doneness, don’t go too deep or you will hit your pie! Allow pie to cool then frost!

Espresso Frosting
So like I said… I cheated and made regular ole buttercream frosting with powdered sugar and everything. I was already pushing it with the extremely experimental pie and cake involved in this thing and wanted something that I was sure would turn out “normal”. But now having tried it out, next time I will definitely give paleo frosting a try.

So I used this Espresso Buttercream recipe. Be sure to dissolve the coffee in the vanilla, I forgot and just added the coffee by itself and it was totally unnoticeable in the frosting. So I had to add a second round of coffee that had been dissolved in the vanilla… much better.

Roger and his 9lb piecaken!

Roger and his 9lb piecaken!

Leave a Reply

