Paleo Bagels

We just had a team come through Uganda. They were such a blessing to us and to the Ugandans that we work with! One thing I found that particularly blesses long-term workers is that we get to treat the short term team like a team of pack mules. 😉 Fortunately, they didn’t need those extra suitcase allowances for their 2 week trip. So we made good use of it and our parents and friends sent over Christmas, Birthdays and Baby shower gifts all in one swoop!

Amongst the awesomeness of packets of cake mix and ziplock bags I also got doughnut pans! I’d realized a few months ago that making paleo doughnuts or bagels wouldn’t be possible without one of these so I thought I’d give it a go.

As soon as the team left, and after I slept 2 days straight to recover, I finally got into the kitchen and made my first paleo bagels! These are full of coconut flour instead of my usual cassava flour and are a derivation of this garlic coconut flour bagel recipe. I really enjoyed these, and they’re definitely yummy, though if I come up with another recipe I will post.

20140817-085402-32042076.jpg

Here is my recipe for Paleo Bagels:

Makes 6 bagels
Ingredients
1/2 cup coconut flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/3 cup melted butter
6 eggs
4 tsp gelatin (I’ve found that you can skip this and sub 2 Tbsp cassava flour and it works the same)

Recipe
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees and grease the doughnut pan with butter.
2. Sift together coconut flour, baking powder and salt (if you are using the cassava flour instead of gelatin mix it in here)
3. In a small bowl, combine the gelatin and a little bit (about equal parts) of cool water until dissolved.
4. Combine melted butter, eggs, and gelatin all together till well combined and let sit for 1 minute.
5. Slowly whisk the flour mixture into the egg and butter mixture. Stir till well combined and no lumps are remaining.
6. Spoon mixture into a bag, cut off the tip and pipe into the doughnut pan.
7. Bake for 20 minutes at 400 degrees.

I made these the night before and then cut them open and toasted, then topped them with guacamole, a fried egg and a slice of bacon. And then my husband almost died from the shock of eating a bagel breakfast sandwich.

Enjoy!

***Update: I recently tried this recipe and made Cinnamon Raisin Bagels! Just add 1 Tbs of Honey, and cinnamon and raisins to taste before piping into the pan.

Leave a Reply

