Pregnancy Fitness

In my experience as a personal trainer I’ve had a decent amount of pregnant clients which has always been …. interesting. A lot of advice given to expecting mothers tends to be outdated in terms of fitness, or the same advice is given to everyone, which means it has to cover the lowest level of health. So I often hear from expecting mothers: “I can’t lift anything over 20lbs”, “I can’t get my heart rate over 140bpm”, “I can’t do any push ups”, etc.

There’s not a lot of advice out there for women who are like me, already very active prior to getting pregnant. I had to do a lot of internet scouring to find anyones blog to use as some type of comparison to see if I was… ya know…. normal. 🙂

So, I thought I would share with you guys my fitness and diet changes that I made for the 1st and 2nd trimester (I’m at 34 weeks right now, so I’ll update once I reach 37 weeks for the 3rd trimester).

Pre-pregnancy

IMG_1519

Weight: 145lbs (which was my fittest since moving to Uganda… abs and everything!)

Diet:

  • Low carbohydrates- when I ate carbohydrates which was usually for breakfast it was either plantains, potatoes or one of my recipes with tapioca flour
  • ***Moderate fruit intake- bananas, apples, pineapple, mango, tomatoes
  • ***High veggie intake- Okra, carrots, onions, cabbage, lettuce, green beans, garlic
  • High protein- chicken, beef, pork (if I’m lucky), eggs, fish
  • Moderate/high fat intake- avocado, coconut oil, olive oil, ghee

*** A note about the fruits and veg, if it looks like I have a weird limited variety that I eat, I do, but that’s because the things listed above are LITERALLY all you can find in terms of fruits and veggies. They are all locally grown and usually organic (except the apples, which are from South Africa). I try to make up for the lack of variety in quantity 🙂

Fitness:

  • 5-6 days a week
  • 20-45 minute workouts
  • Exercise types- high intensity interval training, strength training and zumba

 

First Trimester

20140616-100221.jpg

Weight gained: 0lbs

Pregnancy symptoms:

  • 3 insane days of “morning sickness”- I lost 3 lbs in those 3 days if that gives you an idea
  • constipation & diarrhea (that’s right folks… it was both!)
  • bloating
  • round ligament pain and occasional braxton hicks (especially during workouts)
  • exhaustion- from week 3-week 10 I was insanely tired, I would wake up after 8 hours of solid sleep, eat breakfast, workout, shower and go back to bed for another 3-4 hours

Diet:

  • Food cravings/aversions: I wanted red meat for about 3 days post my morning sickness bout. I was averse to coffee and peanut butter.
  • Moderate carbohydratesI couldn’t keep my energy up so I increased my carbohydrates to breakfast and lunch usually and also added rice back in the mix.
  • Moderate fruit intake- bananas, apples, pineapple, mango, tomatoes
  • High veggie intake- Okra, carrots, onions, cabbage, lettuce, green beans, garlic
  • High protein- chicken, beef, pork, eggs, cut out fish simply because I had eaten it right before my 3 day vomit fest and couldn’t stomach the idea of eating it again
  • Moderate/high fat intake- avocado, coconut oil, olive oil, ghee
  • Water- increased water consumption to 3 liters a day

Fitness:

  • 4-5 days a week
  • 10-45 minute workouts
  • Exercise types- high intensity interval training, strength training, zumba and I added yoga
  • Modifications- After week 6 I couldn’t do any exercises where my stomach touched the ground because it would make me nauseated. I was able to do everything else at the same intensity and strength level.

 

Second Trimester

21

Weight gained: 16.5lbs

Pregnancy symptoms:

  • Started lactating a little bit…. which is pretty freaky.
  • Round ligament pain- occasionally but a lot less often than the 1st trimester
  • Extreme hip pain after sleeping on my side

Diet:

  • Food Cravings/Aversions: I really wanted icecream in a waffle cone… I had to wait 3 weeks till we went down to the capital, but I did get it! A couple of days I wanted potato chips, but I knew that was because I hadn’t had enough water (my body wanted me to drink more water, so if I had something super salty then I would be inclined to drink more)
  • Moderate carbohydrates- same as 1st trimester
  • Moderate fruit intake- bananas, apples, pineapple, mango, tomatoes
  • High veggie intake- Okra, carrots, onions, cabbage, lettuce, green beans, garlic
  • High protein- chicken, beef, pork, eggs, still couldn’t eat fish
  • Moderate/high fat intake- avocado, coconut oil, olive oil, ghee
  • Water- 3 liters a day

Fitness:

  • 4-5 days a week
  • 20-45 minute workouts
  • Exercise types- high intensity interval training, strength training, zumba, yoga
  • Modifications:
    • I started needing to widen my stance when doing yoga and especially when doing squats.
    • I stopped doing deep twists during yoga.
    • I stopped doing backbends of any level since the stretch didn’t feel good on my expanding stomach.
    • I cut out any abdominal work that wasn’t in the form of a plank (i.e. sit ups, roll ups, crunches, boat pose, v-ups).
    • Towards the end of the 2nd I reduced the weight I was able to lift.

 

I hope this encourages you to exercise and eat healthy through pregnancy, I know this is my first so I don’t have much comparison, but I feel that keeping my active lifestyle has been extremely helpful with keeping symptoms down to a minimum.

What about you other mom’s out there any pregnancy health tips? 

One thought on “Pregnancy Fitness

  1. Pingback: Pregnancy Fitness 3rd Trimester & Month 9 | PureLee

Leave a Reply

